Snugglepot and Cuddlepie

I learned from a very early age that I could escape into books, which was just as well, since I had a childhood marked by trauma and misery. One of my favourite books was Snugglepot and Cuddlepie by May Gibbs, English born who moved as a young child with her family to Australia. Her charming drawings, inspired by her fascination with the Australian flora and fauna, captured my imagination and transported me to another world where I myself could be a bush baby and lose my connection for a while with the stark realities of my life.

My first copy looked a little like this…

And there were others like these…

Later, colour copies could be had like these…

Many of the drawings had no colour, but some pages were colour plates.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Snugglepot and Cuddlepie

  1. Anonymous

    Soooo cute!

Leave a Reply

