Up she rises…

Okay, so the world’s off to hell in a handbasket but that should be no reason to fall into a deep depression. What the hell am I saying! I guess if one wants to remain as healthy as possible, quite a feat given the deadly toxins we’re forced to eat, drink, breathe, one has to avoid thinking on the kind of things which make one angry, frustrated, miserable, and try somehow to conduct oneself as though there were nothing threatening one’s life and health, and indeed that of the entire frigging planet.

I confess that the issue of the Fukushima Number 4 Reactor really got to me, resulting in a significant slump of spirits, then tension and stress which brought on a four day migraine (so far but still counting), and, the immune system depressed thereby, another bout of the flu. Such a pity, because I was doing so well avoiding working myself into a lather over around a thousand other issues plaguing the world, simply by refusing to look at them, hear about them, read about them, or think about them. But anyone who’s tried to block out the rottenness of the world without actually removing himself from it will probably attest that it’s not the easiest thing to do. In fact I can think of any number of things which are easier to do, including making a purse out of a sow’s ear.

It’s remarkable with what alacrity others will ruin one’s day with a grisly recounting of the worst news, so that one might even be accosted at the supermarket by a friend one hasn’t seen in an age with a detailed breakdown of the latest horror, not so that one might be kept informed as a preamble to action, but so that there might be a sharing of the frustration and anger leading to nothing but paranoia and hopelessness. Not that I blame them; it’s natural to want to alleviate one’s own anxiety about the evil trends underway in the world, erroneously thinking that talking about them constitutes some kind of attack on them which might limit their destructiveness. Not that I believe talking doesn’t lead to positive action; in fact positive action is seldom achieved, unless performed solo, except by first talking. But I marvel that others can immerse themselves in bad news whilst not actually doing anything helpful, and remain optimistic and cheerful.  So I’m not going to discuss the mass chemical poisonings, genocide, wars, rampant corporate greed, political deceptions, hijacking of religion to serve evil ends, murders and torture, or any other atrocities committed every day on the planet. Aren’t you glad I didn’t? No, instead I’ll focus on something pleasant, uplifting, and encouraging. Let’s see…….

Paralysed by illness and inertia, and a certain amount of ennui, I turn to the kind of music clips on youtube which usually guarantee a measure of restoration of spirits, music being the universal language of goodwill and love, and selected two to share with you, which demonstrate music’s accessibility to both young and old.

 

4 Comments

Filed under A Bit Of A Bitch, Music

4 responses to “Up she rises…

  1. Boyfriend sometimes gets worked up when I talk about the news. Finds it impossible to ignore. It’s a strange feeling to me- being so disconnected from the world. War on TV seems so far away, and political agenda too impenetrable. I bring it up without thinking about how deeply others feel it. I talk about it in an effort to understand, because I know I can’t trust the media to tell me the truth.
    When I was a kid, we used to watch the news line-up over dinner (sbs from 5:30, then abc at 6, world news at 6:30 back on sbs). Brothers would complain that it was too depressing. I never really understood. It just used to… Wash over me, I guess…
    And that’s how I feel now. Completely unaffected. I don’t ignore it either. I must check the news 20+ times throughout my day, on my phone, in the paper, on the TV. And maybe that’s the problem.
    ** But how am I supposed to do anything helpful? **
    I don’t feel guilty for having a genuine interest in the news. But I don’t feel guilty for being emotionally disconnected either. I don’t blame you for wanting to switch it all off, I totally get it. However; there is a point in my own life where I realised – I can’t fight all the time, I can’t try and change things. There’s nothing I can do. I can live my life in protest, forever, because I feel morally compelled by the things I hear on the news, constantly at war with myself because I don’t even know who to trust and what is the truth. Or I can wait, and watch. In quiet fascination. Knowing that it is all going to end. And the only thing I can control is my own life.

  2. Emerging now from the most debilitating bout of flu, it’s the first time I’ve checked the blog, and found your comments Snuff, for which I thank you very much. What you said amply demonstrates how much more well adjusted you are than I, in that you recognise there’s nothing you personally can do to halt the tide of evil but feel it shouldn’t disqualify you from keeping yourself informed, as best you can, whilst cultivating a most reasonable cynicism about the veracity of news reportage, and discussing world events whilst protecting your emotions from the sullying and distressing influence which I suspiciously feel is its general intent.

    I was by no means advocating that one should either do something about the devastating events overtaking us all or shut up, but was I guess marvelling that anyone should find a sense of optimism despite it, which is something I have alas not been able to do myself. It’s possible the key to your getting through it more or less unscathed is your acceptance of the fact that it will all come to an end but that in the meantime you concentrate your efforts on dealing with your own life’s issues, which clearly is the sane and reasonable approach under the circumstances. I bow to your superior wisdom, and resolve to follow your example.

  3. Snuff (@ArghMyLife)

    The comments are being funny, I’m not sure why it won’t let me post this, perhaps because it thinks its spam?

    Marvel at the superior wisdom of God!

    This very issue (I believe) is brought up in 1 Peter, as the author reminds the people to behave themselves as “aliens” and “exiles” (1 Peter 2:11). This applies to us, as strangers on this earth! I know how strange it is to feel like you “don’t belong”, in a world so corrupt and full of horror, but we can acknowledge that we are only here for a short time, and our “home” is not here on this earth. For the time we are here though, 1 Peter reminds us to submit to human authority- as it’s not up to us to revolt, and to make change. The change we make is in the example we set to others, by working hard, doing right, and striving for perfection and holiness after the example of Jesus.

    Throughout Paul’s letters we are reminded of this also, in 1 Thess 4:11 he urges Christians to “make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands”… ” so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody”.

    The NT is constantly reminding us to “be aware”, and to “pay attention”, because the last days are here. However; it’s not for us to be so deeply affected by the atrocities of the world. The time will come when we have to endure our trials, and at the end of 1 Peter (5:6-9) he says :

    “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.
    Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.”

  4. Absolutely right Snuff. My outpourings are a result of a kind of mourning for the world because it’s problems are virtually unsolvable, certainly when left entirely in the hands of self interested parties who are partying it up as though they know the time is short. But I no longer want to mourn and worry for the world, and have lately come to a decision to write my own apologetic and retire, and let the total reactionary outrage begin….

Leave a Reply

